I am sorry to hear that you were injured on the job. If you have been injured on the job and are unable to return to work, a covered employer and insurer must start your benefits within 21 days following the work injury. There are many reasons that an employer and insurance company may fail to start your benefits. Insurers look for reasons to deny claims and they may be stalling in hopes you will not pursue the claim. However, if you have been injured and your doctor has excused you from duty, the employer is obligated to either begin paying benefits within 21 days or send you a notice that your claim has been "controverted"--meaning denied. In either event, you need an experienced workers' compensation attorney to assist you in filing a "Notice of Claim" and "Request for Hearing." Often times, simply hiring an attorney and filing the claim with the State Board of Workers' Compensation lets the employer and insurer know you are serious about pursuing your claim and will go ahead and commence benefits. However, you and your lawyer may have to bring the employer/insurer before an administrative law judge to force them to start your benefits.
Search Our Site
Get Help Now
Please complete the short form below and we will contact you shortly.
- Posted on 01/24/2018 Are You Filing a Workers’ Comp Claim? You May Need to Hire These Experts to Prove Your Right to Benefits
- Posted on 12/22/2017 Are You Entitled to Workers’ Compensation for Injuries Caused in a Car Accident?
- Posted on 11/23/2017 What Should You Consider When Deciding Whether to Accept a Settlement of Your Workers’ Comp Case?
- Posted on 11/16/2018How Grocery Store Workers Are Hurt in on-the-Job Accidents
- Posted on 10/24/2018Office Workers Can Sustain Injuries Requiring Workers’ Comp
- Posted on 10/08/2018Hazards Faced by Utility Workers on the Job
- Posted on 11/07/2014South Georgia Man Killed on the job in a Farming Accident
- Posted on 08/29/2014Georgia Workers’ Compensation Less Affected by ACA