Talahi Island Personal Injury Lawyers
If you’ve been injured in an accident that was someone else’s fault, you may be eligible to pursue financial compensation.
The highly skilled Talahi Island personal injury lawyers of Chris Hudson Law Group can represent you in your pursuit to recover the losses you’ve incurred as a result of your injuries. We will help you determine what the best course of action would be and guide you through the process from beginning to end.
Our Practice Areas
Chris Hudson Law Group is a full-service personal injury law firm that represents injured victims in Georgia, including those living on Talahi Island. Our experienced personal injury lawyers handle the following personal injury cases:
- Car Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Bicycle Accidents
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Dog Bite Attacks
- Medical Malpractice
- Wrongful Death
- Worker’s Compensation
- Nursing Home Abuse
- Spinal Cord Injuries
- Brain Injuries
- Burn Injuries
Additionally, we handle product liability cases for clients who have been injured after their use of the following products:
If you’ve been injured in any of the above accidents, after using any of the above products, or sustained any of the above injuries, contact Chris Hudson Law Group to determine whether you might have a case.
Compensation for Injuries in Georgia
You could receive compensation for the losses you’ve incurred as a result of your injuries if they were someone else’s fault. There are several types of compensation you could receive for your personal injury claim or in a personal injury lawsuit.
The compensation you might receive for your injuries is called damages. In Georgia, you could be entitled to receive economic damages and non-economic damages. Economic damages would cover the financial costs of your injuries, including:
- Cost of medical treatment
- Cost of future medical treatment
- Lost wages or income
- Loss of future earning ability
- Costs of damage to your property
Non-economic damages would cover the emotional and more subjective costs that your injuries have caused you. These include:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Permanent disability, disfigurement, and scarring
- Loss of quality and enjoyment of life
If your loved one was killed because of someone else’s actions, you could be entitled to receive the following economic and non-economic damages in a wrongful death lawsuit:
- Your loved one’s medical expenses
- Funeral expenses
- Loss of your loved one’s insurance benefits
- Loss of your loved one’s income, including future income
- Loss of consortium (personal relationship)
- Pain and suffering
If there were aggravating circumstances leading to your injuries, you may be awarded punitive damages in court. This type of compensation is awarded in rare cases to punish the wrongdoer for their negligent actions and deter them from ever repeating the same behavior in the future.
Your compensation could be affected if you were partially at fault for your injuries. This is due to Georgia’s modified comparative negligence law. It states that as long as you were less than 50 percent at fault for your injuries, you could still recover damages but they will be reduced by your percentage of fault. For example, if you were 20 percent at fault for your injuries and you were entitled to $100,000 in compensation, your compensation would be reduced by 20 percent to $80,000. But if you were 51 percent or more at fault for your injuries, you can’t recover any damages for your losses.
Frequently Asked Questions
We’ve answered several questions you may have about your potential case below.
Do I need to hire an attorney?
If you decide to pursue the compensation you deserve for your injuries, you will embark on a journey that can be challenging and demanding. This is a lot to deal with while you’re trying to recover from your injuries. A personal injury attorney can take on your case and represent you through the entire process so you can focus on your healing.
You’ll also benefit from the legal expertise of a personal injury lawyer. If your case goes to court, you need an attorney with litigation experience. The court process and Georgia’s tort laws are complex. You would have a difficult time trying to represent yourself in court.
Additionally, insurance companies and attorneys for at-fault individuals or companies may take advantage of you if you’re representing yourself. They know that you will likely not understand the true value of your claim nor have the experience and legal knowledge to combat the common tactics they may use.
What should I do after I’ve been injured in an accident?
After being injured in an accident, you should seek medical attention right away. You want to make sure that you are physically okay, and if not, you need medical professionals to treat you and help get you on the mend. Receiving medical attention is also one of the first things you can do to help your personal injury claim and/or case.
Documentation of the medical treatment you received for your injuries is some of the strongest evidence. It will show the extent of your injuries and the treatment that you needed. This will support your claim or lawsuit for the amount of compensation you should receive.
When can I file a personal injury lawsuit?
You can file a personal injury lawsuit any time after you were injured. This means that you could essentially file a lawsuit right after being injured in an accident. So there’s no amount of time you must allow to pass to pursue compensation.
There is, however, a time limit for filing a personal injury lawsuit. This is dictated by the statute of limitations. In Georgia, you have two years from the date of the accident or the date that you were injured to file a personal injury lawsuit. If your loved one was killed due to someone else’s negligence, you have four years from the date of their death to file a wrongful death lawsuit.
Call Chris Hudson Law Group Today
For 17 years, founding attorney Chris Hudson has been fighting for his clients to be fairly compensated for the injuries that wrongdoers caused them. He has a deep understanding of Georgia’s personal injury laws, and he knows how to get results that support injury victims at one of the most vulnerable times of their lives.
If you’re ready to seek the justice you deserve, call the personal injury attorneys of Chris Hudson Law Group at (706) 690-4613 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.