Mileage Payments For Your Doctor Visits Under Georgia Workers' Compensation Laws

Under Georgia Workers’ Compensation law, the employer and insurer are responsible for “usual, customary, and reasonable” medical expenses incurred by a covered employee.  O.C.G.A. § 34-9-200.  Medical expenses include the reasonable cost of travel between an employee’s home and medical provider or pharmacy and are paid at a rate of .40 cents per mile.  Mileage requests must be submitted to the employer/insurer within one year of incurring the expense.

To claim medical expenses, you should keep a detailed ledger that identifies the date, one that identifies the destination, and one that identifies the mileage.  Do a map-quest or track your mileage to and from each of your medical provider and log this information into your ledger.  Then submit this document on a monthly basis

Under Georgia Workers’ Compensation law, the employer and insurer are responsible for “usual, customary, and reasonable” medical expenses incurred by a covered employee. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-200. Medical expenses include the reasonable cost of travel between an employee’s home and medical provider or pharmacy and are paid at a rate of 40 cents per mile. Mileage requests must be submitted to the employer/insurer within one year of incurring the expense.

Keep Detailed Records to Assure That You’re Compensated

To claim medical expenses, you should keep a detailed ledger that identifies the date, one that identifies the destination, and one that identifies the mileage. Do a map-quest or track your mileage to and from each of your medical provider and log this information into your ledger. Then submit this document on a monthly basis to the insurance company. The insurance company must pay your mileage within 15 days of a properly submitted request. Unless the insurance company has good cause to deny the request, the State Board may impose a penalty if you’re not paid.

Remember, insurance companies do not always volunteer all of the available benefits, and may not tell you that you are entitled to mileage reimbursement to and from your medical providers.  While it may not seem like a huge benefit, I promise it will add up.

to the insurance company.  The insurance company must pay your mileage within 15 days of a properly submitted request.  Unless the insurance company has good cause to deny the request, the State Board may impose a penalty.

Remember, insurance companies do not always volunteer all of the available benefits, and may not tell you that you are entitled to mileage reimbursement to and from your medical providers.  While it may not seem like a huge benefit, I promise it will add up.